Granny’s Coconut Pecan Frosting


Being down in my back and Hubby working out of town, I needed some comfort food today. Not just any comfort food, my favorite comfort food…German Chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake

I’ve found that the box cakes are usually just about as good as home made and oh so much easier and cheaper in the long run. With a German Chocolate cake the best part in my opinion is the icing and that’s where today recipe comes into play.

Granny’s Coconut Pecan Icing
1-14 oz. can sweetened condensed milk
3 egg yolks
2 teaspoons vanilla
1/2 cup butter or stick margarine
2 cups flaked coconut
1 cup chopped pecans or pecan halves (your preference)

In a heavy 2 qt. sauce pan combine milk, butter and egg yolks. Cook stirring constantly over medium heat until bubbly, about 10 minutes. Remove from heat, stir in vanilla, coconut and pecans. Allow to cool for 15 minutes before spreading on complete cooled cake.

I prefer to store my cake in the refrigerator but that’s just me; I like it cold but it isn’t necessary to do so.

Happy eatin’!

Leave a Reply

