Back To Business


It’s been a while since I’ve updated this here old recipe blog.  It’s been a busy year this past year and although that might just sound like an excuse to some, it’s been more in depth than just busy.

From January 4, 2009 to August 26, 2009 I was my husbands caregiver while he put up the fight of his life battling lung cancer.  Sadly he lost his battle on August 26, 2009.  While I haven’t been busy for the last seven months, I just haven’t had the, for lack of a better word, gumption to even mess with recipes to post here. 

Grief is a very subjective thing.  Everyone handles it differently.  In reality I started grieving the day that my husband was diagnosed.  His doctor was very upfront with us and let us know what to expect and just how much time he had left.  The prognosis was not at all good.  The reality of the situation was that with or without treatment he was looking at six to nine months and in the end he lived for seven months and 22 days.  Pretty much in the middle of the prognosis.  He had always said that he would NEVER do chemo but when it came down to it and with reality hitting him in the face, he chose to do chemo.  He was not a candidate for radiation because his cancer was so extensive that they would have to radiate nearly all of his body. 

Anyway, got a little off track there.  The gist of what I’m trying to say is that I’m back and I hope to be posting more entries on a more regular basis.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. iris
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 05:26:07

    Well good to see you are back. We used to go yo the site quite often. We love getting on the site and see whats new or old.

    Reply

  2. iris
    Oct 17, 2010 @ 05:28:23

    Well good to see you are back. We used to go to the site quite often. We love getting on the site and see whats new or old.

    Reply

  3. Misti
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 15:22:23

    I just came across this blog when I googled for a homemade biscuit recipe. I just have to tell you that the recipe on here turned out so well I am now making another (double) batch just so I can freeze some. Thanks so much for sharing!! I do hope your husband enjoyed them, too. It seems like a great (and easy) recipe to me! BTW–I am sorry to hear of your loss. My father passed away just four months after being diagnosed with Stage 4 lung cancer. (That was almost five years ago.) No matter how “prepared” you are, you are never really prepared for the loss of a loved one! Not a day goes by that I don’t think about and miss Dad–he was my best friend! (I was truly a “Daddy’s girl!”) I have come to realized that the best we can do is continue to keep their spirits alive through all the wonderful memories. 🙂 Thanks again for sharing your wonderful recipes.

    Reply

  4. GivenGrace
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 22:07:36

    I wanted to comment b/c of your heartfelt blog on the loss of your husband. I was searching for Homemade Biscuit recipe when I found a blessing.
    Thank you for allowing yourself to be a blessing to others through your gift from God. Good food lingers generations after the chef.
    May the Lord whom we love, bless you and be gracious to you and your family as you are faithful and obedient to His call on your life.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

